Angebote zu "Gentleman" (73 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

And Only to Deceive
8,02 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander comes a stunning novel of historical suspense set in Victorian England, meticulously researched and with a twisty plot that involves stolen antiquities, betrayal, and murderLady Emily's first mystery . . .For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was just an easy way to escape her stifling home life and overbearing mother. So when her new husband dies on safari soon after the wedding, she feels little grief. After all, she barely knew the man.Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman scholar and antiquities collector who, to her surprise, was deeply in love with his wife. Emily becomes fascinated with this new image of her dead husband and immerses herself in his intellectual pursuits, studying Greek and spending time in the quiet corridors of the British Museum.But there, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries - and as she sets out to solve the crime she discovers even more surprises about the husband she never knew . . .Praise for Tasha Alexander'This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine's growth in life and love. A memorable debut' Booklist'Enchanting... Alexander keeps readers guessing until the very end' Publishers Weekly'Tasha Alexander is one to watch - and read... despite her cliffhanger climaxes and witty repartee, there's a depth of sensitivity that sets her apart' The Huffington Post'Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel' The Denver Post

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Image of the English Gentleman in Twentieth...
46,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Image of the English Gentleman in Twentieth-Century Literature ab 46.99 € als epub eBook: Englishness and Nostalgia. Aus dem Bereich: eBooks, Belletristik, Erzählungen,

Anbieter: hugendubel
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Shadow on the Glass: A Harley Quin Short St...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

At Mr. and Mrs. Unkerton's party in Greenway's House, Mr. Satterthwaite learns of a haunted window: No matter how many times it is replaced, it always contains the image of a gentleman in a plumed hat. When gunshots are heard, Satterthwaite finds that two of the guests have been shot dead, which is shortly followed by a sighting of the gentleman in the newly-replaced windowpane. Can Mr. Quin shed light on the mystery? 1. Language: English. Narrator: Hugh Fraser. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/harp/003213/bk_harp_003213_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Bob Dylan: Icon for the Ages - An Audio Celebra...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Bob Dylan, the poet laureate of now several generations is revealed in this stunning new audiobook from master storyteller author actor Geoffrey Giuliano. Here, you will find the real Dylan behind the carefully crafted public image. As well, here is the man behind the music and the inspirational music behind the man. This is, without doubt, the perfect pop compendium for all dedicated fans, music historians, poetic philosophers, and all inspired school and university systems. Ladies and gentleman, at last - the real Bob Dylan! 1. Language: English. Narrator: Geoffrey Giuliano. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/161016/bk_acx0_161016_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Tales from the Global Village
9,80 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Diese Sammlung präsentiert neun herausragende Kurzgeschichten von bekannten und einflussreichen englischsprachigen Autoren zum Thema Globalisation.Die zunehmende Komplexität und kulturelle Diversifizierung der Gesellschaft durch die fortschreitende Globalisierung spiegelt sich auch in den persönlichen Hintergründen der Autorinnen und Autoren wieder: Die meisten der hier vertretenen Autoren lebten oder leben in verschiedensten Ländern, häufig weit entfernt von ihrem Geburtsland.Enthaltene Kurzgeschichten:Katherine Mansfield: Germans at Meat (1911)George Orwell: Shooting an Elephant (1936)Romesh Gunesekera: Storm Petrel (1992)Goh Poh Seng: Tall Tales and Misadventures of a Young WOG (Westernized Oriental Gentleman) (2003)Leslie Mavis Gallant: In Transit (1988)Linda Jane Svendsen: Origami (1989)Yasmine Gooneratne: Bharat Changes His Image (1992)Hanif Kureishi: My Son the Fanatic (1997)Qaisra Shahraz: A Pair of Jeans (1998/2005)

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Tales from the Global Village
10,10 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Diese Sammlung präsentiert neun herausragende Kurzgeschichten von bekannten und einflussreichen englischsprachigen Autoren zum Thema Globalisation.Die zunehmende Komplexität und kulturelle Diversifizierung der Gesellschaft durch die fortschreitende Globalisierung spiegelt sich auch in den persönlichen Hintergründen der Autorinnen und Autoren wieder: Die meisten der hier vertretenen Autoren lebten oder leben in verschiedensten Ländern, häufig weit entfernt von ihrem Geburtsland.Enthaltene Kurzgeschichten:Katherine Mansfield: Germans at Meat (1911)George Orwell: Shooting an Elephant (1936)Romesh Gunesekera: Storm Petrel (1992)Goh Poh Seng: Tall Tales and Misadventures of a Young WOG (Westernized Oriental Gentleman) (2003)Leslie Mavis Gallant: In Transit (1988)Linda Jane Svendsen: Origami (1989)Yasmine Gooneratne: Bharat Changes His Image (1992)Hanif Kureishi: My Son the Fanatic (1997)Qaisra Shahraz: A Pair of Jeans (1998/2005)

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Nicht nur Kleider machen Leute: Auftreten - Sty...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Ein Gentleman im Schmuddellook überzeugt genauso wenig wie ein elegant gekleideter Rüpel. Nur wer Kleidung und Verhalten beachtet, strahlt ein positives Bild aus. Zu beiden Bereichen gibt es bestimmte Regeln, deren Einhaltung sich lohnt. Mit diesem Hörbuch gibt Dagmar P. Heinke zuerst eine Einführung in Persönlichkeitsbildung. Anhand Prominenter, wie Madonna oder Franz Beckenbauer, erläutert sie, wie gekonnte Selbstdarstellung das Image formt.Anschließend geht sie auf Fragen des Styling und Verhaltens ein: Welche Farben passen zu welchem Hauttyp? Was braucht ein Mann / eine Frau für das Geschäftsleben? Welches Makeup ist angebracht? Welcher Haarschnitt passt? Ist längerer Blickkontakt unhöflich? Wer gibt wem zuerst die Hand? Helfen auch Damen den Herren in den Mantel? Von der Unterwäsche bis zum Schnurrbart und von der Sitzordnung im Taxi bis zum Schenken von Blumen, beleuchtet Heinke alle Aspekte der äußeren Erscheinung und des Verhaltens.Wir werden in Sekundenschnelle von unserem Gegenüber eingeschätzt. Kleidung, Körpersprache und Verhalten entscheiden über den Eindruck, den wir hinterlassen. Heinke zeigt, wie die eigene Wirkung beeinflusst werden kann. Dagmar Pauline Heinke gründete 1979 die Firma New Image in Nürnberg. Das Unternehmen begleitet Menschen bei Veränderungsprozessen. Dagmar Heinke arbeitet als Image Consultant im In- und Ausland und war über 15 Jahre als freie Stylistin für Prof.Heinz Oestergaard tätig. Gleichzeitig assistierte sie ihm bei großen Typveränderungen für Frauenzeitschriften und TV-Auftritte. Dagmar Heinke ist zudem Autorin von mittlerweile 14 Fachbüchern, die in verschiedene Sprachen übersetzt wurden. 1. Sprache: Deutsch. Erzähler: Tabea Scholz. Hörprobe: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lind/004583/bk_lind_004583_sample.mp3. Digitales Hörbuch im AAX Format.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
A Gentlemen's Guide to Style and Self-Defense i...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Old West has had a powerful impact on the concept of gentlemanly masculinity among Americans. To behave like a gentleman may mean little or much. To spend large sums of money like a gentleman may be of no great praise, but to conduct oneself like a gentleman implies a high standard even for those without financial means. For almost two centuries, the frontiersman has been a standard of rugged individualism and stoic bravery for the American male. Provider, protector, counselor, and knight errant to the weak or helpless, men on the frontier stood apart. Newspapers, dime novels, and Wild West shows helped to form the popular view of Old West masculinity in the later 19th century. Novels and short stories served this purpose in the first half of the 20th century, but it was films and TV that cemented the image of the Old West that most post-WWII Baby Boomers have today. The study of film and other media representations has been a particularly energetic field for masculinity research. However, western films are not so much about the West as they are about the Westerner. He stands alone, heroic, powerful, and seeking justice and order. The Westerner is the "last gentleman" and Westerns are "probably the last art form in which the concept of honor retains its strength." Directors and screenwriters, ultimately having overcome the simplistic shoot-em-up, used the genre to explore the pressing subjects of their day like racism, nationalism, capitalism, family, and honor, issues more deeply meshed with the concept of manliness than simply wearing a gun belt and Stetson hat. Fear not, Old West purists! For those traditionalists among you, this audiobook is filled with authentic designs, facts, weapons, and tales from the mid-1800s to the turn of the century and slightly beyond. Here are some of the roots of the most popular holsters, fashions, weapons, cartridges, and myths preferred by collectors, reenactors, and cowboy action enthusiasts. /p 1. Language: English. Narrator: Dan Orders. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/098648/bk_acx0_098648_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot
A Scandalous Past: Scandalous Series, Book 4 (V...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Regency Historical Novel - Book Four of the Scandalous Series After years of abuse at the hands of her mother, Cordelia Avery knows the only way out is marriage to the perfect man. A man who will allow her all the freedom she has ever craved. And she has the perfect man picked out. The scandalous Marquess of Haversham might not be perfect to anyone else, but taking the man's black reputation under consideration, Cordie believes she'll enjoy all the freedom she's always wished for in his disreputable arms. If only she could get her heart to go along with the plan and to stop leaping whenever Lord Adonis///the Earl of Clayworth is nearby. But the very proper earl is most assuredly the wrong sort for her purposes. Brendan Reese, the Earl of Clayworth, has no intention of ever marrying again. He's still trying to clean up the mess his first wife left him, even years after her death. To all the world, Clayworth is the epitome of the perfect English gentleman, and he so wishes that image was the truth. But the truth, as it often can be, is ugly. After all, a perfect English gentleman would never have a traitor for a mother. And unless Clayworth can find the evidence his late wife hid, he could face the gallows himself. But a chance encounter with the reckless Cordelia Avery gives him the best lead he's had in years to finally putting his family's past to rest. Unfortunately, focusing on anything other than Miss Avery seems a nearly impossible task. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Stevie Zimmerman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/012510/bk_acx0_012510_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.01.2020
Zum Angebot